Exploding torches, any experience?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wildgoose

May 15, 2012
Middlesex
Evening all,

I’ve recently found my oldish Surefire z2 combat light and fancy getting it back in use.
The incandescent bulb has blown but I have a surefire LED that I’ve dropped in and it works, but compared to modern torches is slightly underwhelming (I’m guessing 300lm but can’t be sure)

There’s 1000lm drop in bulb/reflector units on Amazon for £15.

If I use 3.7v rechargeable batteries would it be safe? I’m no electrical engineer. There’s tonnes of advice on torch forums but it blows my mind to be honest!

Has anyone upgraded a torch this way? Is it safe?

There’s brighter torches out there I know, but I like the surefire.

Thanks for reading

Wildgoose

May 15, 2012
Middlesex
That’s a good call, I suspect they won’t recommend it as it’s unofficial batteries and reflector head etc but will message them.

I’m trying to keep the cost down so any official product would likely not make it financially worthwhile

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
The Surefire sizing has been copied so many times that the LED drop-in module is called a P60. Search for those, and make sure the driver can handle either 2x CR123 or better, use a single 18650 battery. It’s a voltage thing, 2x3v batteries v 1x3v batteries. It was your thread title, single cells are safer.

Single 18650 is safer, rechargeable, and there are lots of P60 drop ins for that size battery. It’s simply a double sized CR123a.

Wildgoose

May 15, 2012
Middlesex
That’s good to know, thanks.
I read that the 18650 doesn’t fit and that the torch needs to be bored out to accept one?
There’s a couple at work so I’ll try and fit one.

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
That’s good to know, thanks.