Couple of carving questions :)

Dec 27, 2015
Pembroke
Hi folks, I've been carving for a few years now but am new to green woodworking. I was wondering if I'm working with green wood and it dries out during the project, can it be made "green" again? Or be given the properties of green wood again ? Also I received 2 mora spoon knives for Christmas, how do I sharpen them? Can do knives, chisels gouges etc but haven't a clue how to sharpen these things. TIA :)
Sent from my SM-G110H using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Dec 27, 2015
Pembroke
Hi folks, I've been carving for a few years now but am new to green woodworking. I was wondering if I'm working with green wood and it dries out during the project, can it be made " green " again? Or be given the properties of green wood again ? Also I received 2 mora spoon knives for Christmas, how do I sharpen them? Can do knives, chisels gouges etc but haven't a clue how to sharpen these things. TIA :)

forginhill

Settler
Dec 3, 2006
The Desert
I think this came up recently in a thread. I've heard about people keeping their wood in plastic bags...freezer....fridge. Some soak them in water. I'd say experiment. I personally carve everything dry. Because I hardly get time to do it (and I live in a desert), the wood is very dry by the time I get to it. That's just my experience. Others will probably have better advice for your situation.

Muddypaws

Jan 23, 2009
Southampton
You can't make dry wood green again, but you can retard the drying process. I like to store unfinished projects bedded down in a nest of their own wood shavings. The trick with green woodworking is to do the rough shaping quickly, trying to maintain an even thickness to minimise the risk of cracking as the wood dries.
Often the finishing cuts are best made when the wood has dried out, as softer green wood may have a tendency for the soft fibres to lift, although this varies depending on the type of wood used (not much help, but with experience you get a feel for it)