Conifers - Calling all Tree Surgeons & Plant Gurus

Had an interesting chat about conifers recently. As I am a landscaper, the person I was talking to asked me a question he thought I could answer. In honesty, I couldn't, so wonder if there is anyone on here who would know.

For ID purposes (looking at the branches or nodes) he said he got taught a little phrase that could help identify conifers. It went something like:

Pines = Pairs
Spruce = Singular
Cypress = Clumps/clusters
Larch = Lots (or looses-can't quite remember)

Can anyone confirm this potentially rather useful way of ID-ing conifers?

Cheers.......hc

bushwacker bob

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 22, 2003
STRANGEUS PLACEUS
Its mostly correct but falls down a bit on pines. The most common European ones are 2 needles to a sheath but you can get 5 needled varieties such as Pinus Parviflora the Japanese white pine.

BushEd

Nomad
Aug 24, 2009
Herts./Finland
Not heard the one about cypresses, i'm pretty sure they're scale-leaved, not really clumps or clusters. True Cedars are in clumps and clusters...

addo

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 8, 2006
Derbyshire
Not heard the one about cypresses, i'm pretty sure they're scale-leaved, not really clumps or clusters. True Cedars are in clumps and clusters...

Aye thats true, recon its cedar not cypress in the id on post one.

Rest is about right, but there are other coniferous trees such as Firs, and redwoods. There all diferent though and some folks just go on the smell of the needles when crushed each one smells of a different fruit, mainly citrus ones.

Spruce and firs get mixed up. Spruce (xmas tree) will have a heal of wood attached to the end of the needle when pulled away from the twig, firs dont, and the needles on a spruce are all the way around the twig (entire), and firs are flatter and mainly on the sides.

Peter_t

Native
Oct 13, 2007
East Sussex
thats a rough guide i supose.