Compass and Map DVD's or Book recommendations for beginners?

VanDeRooster

Jan 14, 2014
Norwich, UK.
The free leaflet from OS is a good place to start. IIRC it's available for free download from their website along with a "junior" version.

Sent from my  iPhone 5s using Tapatalk

TinkyPete

Sep 4, 2009
uk mainly in the Midlands though
Map reading instructions can easily been found on the net even on You Tube for free. Some are better than others. +1 to the stuff from the OS.

I am a map reading instructor in the army and often do some navigation stuff at meets if people want it.

One of the best tips I can give you that often is not mentioned is to learn your paces. The easiest way to do this is to use street lights or known 100m gaps in a 30mph area lights are often only 50m apart. Try counting the strike of only one foot either your right or your left and between the distances that is how far you walk in 100m multiply it or use pace beads or counters to mark every 100m then you should not walk to many extra miles or kilometres :) It also comes in handy if later you learn Naismiths rule which will help planning your trips. Keep it simple in the beginning.

I shall start writing an article when I get some time :) hopefully to put some bug bears to bed. Navigation is an important skill but if an officer can be taught anyone can :) (although most of use still do not trust an officer with a map if we can help it. I normally do the check navigation to make sure)

Last edited:

janso

Dec 31, 2012
Penwith, Cornwall
Plenty out there to choose from; as said start with the free OS downloadable pdf's and their online tutorial. The best way to learn is by doing, do you know anyone who could help as opposed to a on the hill workshop? If you have an MR team or lowland rescue nearby then try and bribe some help offering a donation?? Unfortunately, nav and map/ compass work is one of those skills that fade without regular practice...