Char Cloth and Fire my first Success

CBJ

Native
Jan 28, 2009
Aberdeenshire
Hey folks,

After setting up camp for the weekend I wanted to try my hand at something that I have never done before. So I decided to have a go at making some char cloth.

Now I know this is "Old Hat" to most of you but for me it was something really exciting and new.

Anyways with the fire going the first step was to cut some 100% cotton into rough squares/rectangles and stack them into the tin. I packed a 200g sweet tin with a hole punched in the lid up to the top but not so that I had to cram it down to get the lid on.

28wl9c6.jpg

Next The tin went into the fire. At first I put it directly into the flames and as soon as it started smoking it was moved onto the edge of the fire.

o0npdf.jpg

I was very attentive at this point as I had to watch that hole carefully to make sure it didnt catch flame. It did catch flame the first time but was quickly put out by placing my poker over the hole.
As soon as there was no more smoke coming from the tin ( I checked by putting it back into the middle of the fire) I pulled it right out of the fire and left it to cool down . I remembering reading somewhere that if you open it too quickly the air rushing in could ignight it again so I wasnt chancing it.

2uhbath.jpg

Finally the moment of truth, I was dreading opening up that tin. I thought something must have gone wrong and all there was in there was a pile of ashes or the cloth had only been partly charred.

But:

1z3qsqu.jpg

After checking that it didnt fall a part in my hands I felt like skipping around the camp as I didnt think it would have been succesfull.

The whole burning process took me 20-25 min and after the first batch I got into a very theraputic rythm, cut...stack...burn...etc till in the end I ended up with this pile

121cq5x.jpg

OOPs a bit much ?? mabey but I really couldnt help myself and the only reason I stopped was the fact that I had run out of tins to store the charcloth in.