Brown Trout Set Up For Novice.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Pete E

Forager
Dec 1, 2004
North Wales
Hi Folks,

Complete novice here looking for help..

Its many years since I’ve drowned a worm in the local streams as a youngster.
Can’t say that I ever caught much except the odd eel.

A little later as a teenager, I dabbled with Pike fishing, but again had no real success.

I eventually gave up on fishing and took up shooting which resulted in deer stalking becoming my passion ever since.

However, I now have an 18month old grandson, and I think it would be bordering on neglectful if I could not take him fishing when he is a little older.

So with that in mind, I wonder if anybody here could suggest a basic spinning outfit for smallish brown and rainbow trout we get in the small streams and mountain lakes here in North Wales.

I am not interested in traditional fly fishing, but after reading a recent thread here, I would be interested in trying bubble float and fly and perhaps bubble float and worm as well as spinning..

I have an 1970’s vintage 6ft glass fibre spinning rod and an equally old Michell 320 reel that I am hoping to get started with, so really I am looking for a detailed list for some basic terminal tackle..

On the other thread “8g Mepps” were suggested, but ideally I’d like to know what sort/colours ect for a basic starter selection..

The same for flies..if somebody could list half a dozen patterns to try along with hook sizes, I would be most grateful.

At the start, I want to keep thing as simple as possible. As things progress I will update my rod and reel and perhaps branch out a little, but that’s for the future.

So if anybody can help a complete novice, it would be most appreciated,

Thanks in advance,

Peter

dave89

Nomad
Dec 30, 2012
Sheffield