Birch bark questions

Sep 17, 2008
Falmouth uk
I have recently returned from a trip around Norway and Sweden in which I got a lot of time to practice my bushcraft skills. I discovered the wonders of birchbark along the way.
I am a student studying 3d design for sustainability
We are encouraged to choose diverse materials and consider their environmental impact.

For my current project I have chosen to study birchbark and its traditional uses and possible application in a more modern environment.
I thought people on here may know a little bit about the material-

1. Is the only difference between a birch and a silver birch the colour? do the bark from each tree have similar properties?

2. For small projects can bark be harvested from a birch/silver birch without damaging the tree?

3.How old should the tree grow before the bark is harvested?

4.Which regions of the world grow trees with the best bark?

5.Should the bark be treated before use?

6.Is birch bark currently used in a contemporary way?

If anyone knows of any good resources to get good information about birchbark then please let me know.

Thanks a lot!

Matt_M

Sep 3, 2008
Wolverhampton
I do know that the colder it is, the thicker the bark is, as for harvesting many seem to harvest from trees already felled / dead trees. The only treatment is to clean the bark in most cases. I will have a look for a resource a post my findings :) I see birch all the time, but other than fire lighting i never use it, so i guess i should start a project myself!

sam_acw

Native
Sep 2, 2005
Tyneside
There's a book on birch and its uses on amazon. Probably worth checking out - it's on my list but I can't afford it yet (along with the other 50 on the list!)

Harmony

Tenderfoot
May 15, 2008
Spokane, Washington USA
If you search the threads I have started on this forum, you will see I work a lot with birch bark.