After a new canoe

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Suffolkrafter

Settler
Dec 25, 2019
Suffolk
I'm looking for a new hard shell canoe. I bought an advanced elements inflatable kayak quite a few years ago and it has served me well on rivers, lakes and coastal waters. For an inflatable it performs brilliantly. When the kids were small it would hold all of us comfortably, but now they're too big for it, so we need a second canoe.

I've plenty of experience kayaking, up to grade 3 white water, and so I have decided I'd like a Canadian canoe just for a change. And I enjoy the asthetics of Canadian canoes. I've paddled these on various occasions. However my wife prefers the idea of a kayak, with them being easier to paddle.

I found this:

This strikes me as a good compromise. Whereas I fancy myself paddling through the Canadian wilderness for days on end, realistically I'm going to be pottering around local rivers and broads on Sunday with the kids in tow. Has anyone used this canoe? Or can recommend any alternative? (I don't want a sit-on canoe).

pieinthesky

Forager
Jun 29, 2014
Northants
I haven't used one but it is very heavy and has limited stowage space.

You can get Canadian canoes with seats for kayak type paddling maybe that would be a better compromise?

Suffolkrafter

Settler
Dec 25, 2019
Suffolk
Thanks, I hadn't really considered paddling a canoe with kayak paddles, but it seems it can be done.
One thing I also hadn't thought about is that the kayaks I've listed above supposedly track quite well, but are laborious to turn, whereas conversely, a Canadian canoe tends to be better at turning, with the ends being out the water. But therefore are more prone to catching wind. Is this a fair comment?

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk