a guest in the forge.....

lannyman8

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 18, 2009
Dark side of the Moon
hi all....

had Tariq over yesterday as he was after some help with forging, we had a bit of a faf tring to get some gas but then we where away......

T had some files with him, so we anealed them for him and used 1 square file for a bash.....

i showed him how i heat treat, and what happens to the metal when its quenched, we snapped the tip of a file that had been quenched so he could see the grain change (sorry no pic's of that.....DOH!!!).

T had a bash and learned the way i do things, he did very well and with some practice could be very good indead...:)

i tried to get what we had done finished as much as possible so T could do the remaining (grinding work) at home and finish the blades off....

i also tried something new, cutting the steel on the anvil, i have never done it before but it worked fine....:) i was supprised how easy it was infact.....

so, to sum up both happy i think, we both learned new skills that we can use again....:):):):):)

big thank you to Tariq who came across, and was kind enough to pay for the gas ;) Thanks T....:)

just a few pic's for you....

chris.

tasum

Forager
Mar 3, 2011
Leeds, UK
some more pics

imgp1530w.jpg

imgp1524.jpg

imgp1525c.jpg

imgp1526.jpg

imgp1527m.jpg

imgp1528b.jpg

imgp1529l.jpg

and a vid of chris's forge in action

[video]http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/6110/9jk.mp4[/video]

thanks to chris for giving up his valuable time and showing me how it's done. thanks mate. you are a genuine fella and very humble about your level of skill.

thanks a lot :)

lannyman8

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 18, 2009
Dark side of the Moon
Judging by the fencing - you do not like interuptions from passers by!

the land mines are the other side john, the fence is there so i dont go the wrong side....:):):):)