Jetboil PCS

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

gliderrider

Forager
Oct 26, 2011
Derbyshire, UK
JETBOIL PCS(Personal Cooking System)
I've been using one for a couple of years, first borrowed, I bought my own from a canooing shop at the end of 2009.

The PCS comes in a tight blister packed plastic case with a nice, colourful card insert, my only problem with it being that in English on the insert is the offer of free stuff from the jetboil range when you register your new stove, unfortunatly when I logged on for my prize I found out this only aplies if you live in the continental USA, oh well.

The stove itself is nice and compact, with the burner and a 100g EN417 gas cart fitting inside the pan, which also doubles as a cup. Personally I use a bigger 200g cartridge, as the wider base gives the whole thing more stability. You can get a stabiliser that fits onto a 100g cartridge, but it just seems like spending money for the sake of it.

The stove, when all fitted together stands about 18" high, with the pan fitting onto the stove with a bayonet type fitting, and the stove screwing onto the gas cartridge.

The boil time of a Ltr of water is about 90seconds, with this only raising slightly if the water is snow, I've found that this is just about right to put all the ingrediants of your brew in your mug before its boiled.

I wouldnt recomend cooking anything more complex than boil in the bag or de-hydrated rations in it as the tall, narrow pan is a pain in the bum to clean out.

Although its possible to use the pan on a different stove, or even an open fire I strongly recomend taking the neopreme cosy off the pan first.