Zeroing a scope for dummies

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wilderbeast

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 9, 2008
Essex-Cardiff
Hi all,

Does anyone know of, or would like to a write a beginners tutorial for zeroing a scope.

I wonder because I was trying to zero my scope on my new bsa superstar(yay:D), but it was an utter disaster. I don't have any of this fancy stand,vice or gun bench jiggery pokery and this makes it really difficult to duplicate shots exactly every single time!

So does anyone have any tips, for a complete beginner with little equipment, on how to zero a scope.

Cheers,
Will

Jul 26, 2009
My Front Room
Stop.
Do not adjust anything.
First practice just shooting it. Do not worry about zero.
Practice holding the rifle, note position of hand, arm, head and eye. Then gently squeeze shots off.
Take your time and just practice getting good groups without adjusting the scope.
Once you do get good technique then and only then should you even begin to consider adjusting your scope. And then only one click at a time.

Wilderbeast

Dec 9, 2008
Essex-Cardiff
Stop.
Do not adjust anything.
First practice just shooting it. Do not worry about zero.
Practice holding the rifle, note position of hand, arm, head and eye. Then gently squeeze shots off.
Take your time and just practice getting good groups without adjusting the scope.
Once you do get good technique then and only then should you even begin to consider adjusting your scope. And then only one click at a time.

that's what I started doing, but I only have a small target area and the scope was so off i wasn't hitting my target area so I couldn't work out where to adjust!

dr jones

Feb 21, 2007
west wales