Yarrow

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Arizroughrider

Forager
Apr 24, 2010
Prescott, Arizona USA
yarrow.jpg

bushcraftbob

Settler
Jun 1, 2007
Oxfordshire
aaargh yarrow! The lawn where i work is infested with the stuff!!! Anyone know any uses for this plant? (I know about the soldiers using as field dressings in WW1 but any other uses??).

Arizroughrider

Forager
Apr 24, 2010
Prescott, Arizona USA
aaargh yarrow! The lawn where i work is infested with the stuff!!! Anyone know any uses for this plant? (I know about the soldiers using as field dressings in WW1 but any other uses??).

It has many uses. I don't want to violate any laws and since I am not a Doctor I am not recommending anyone using it for anything. But you can read the link below and decide for yourself.

http://www.altnature.com/gallery/yarrow.htm

http://www.ehow.com/how_2082972_use-yarrow.html

http://www.gardensablaze.com/HerbYarrowMed.htm

QDanT

Settler
Mar 16, 2006
Yorkshire England
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Ching_divination

Hexagrams may be generated by the manipulation of yarrow stalks. The following directions are from the ten wings of the I Ching. Other instructions can be found here, and a calculation of probabilities here.

One takes fifty yarrow stalks, of which only forty-nine are used. These forty-nine are first divided into two heaps (at random), then a stalk from the right-hand heap is inserted between the ring finger and the little finger of the left hand. The left heap is counted through by fours, and the remainder (four or less) is inserted between the ring finger and the middle finger. The same thing is done with the right heap, and the remainder inserted between the forefinger and the middle finger. This constitutes one change.