Wolves

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pierre girard

Need to contact Admin...
Dec 28, 2005
Hunter Lake, MN USA
In our area we have two types of wolves, brush wolves, also known as coyotes, and timber wolves - which I've heard people on TV call grey wolves. I haven't much interest in the brush wolves, but timber wolves have always piqued my fancy.

I'm no expert on wolves. I should really read up on them, but I have been interested in them and watch them whenever I'm able.

First I remember of timber wolves, they would get up on the ridge behind our place and howl. There was a lot of excitement. My pa would run out with the gun and send a couple of bullets their way - as he didn't want them taking the young stock. Sometimes deer would pack in around the house and barn - knowing the wolves feared humans.

Another time, I couldn't have been but 5 or 6, we were out to pick blueberries, and it was late before we set out for home. The trail ran through a valley, and a wolf pack started howling back and forth from in front of us, on either side of the trail, then from each side of us in the rear as well. It was obvious, they were stalking us, but we kids were not concerned, until we realized our parents were very concerned. When one came out on a bluff in front of us, my pa ran at him and winged a rock at him. I don't know if it bothered the wolves, but it made me feel better. We got home fine.

Wolves come in quite a variety of colors. Some are hard to tell from dog breeds like huskys and malumutes. Some are black, some are a light tan, and I once saw a wolf that was completely white.