What 'Pertex & Pile'/ softshell jacket?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Aristotle

Forager
Jan 13, 2010
NW England
I'm interested in moving away from the base-mid-membrane layerss for outdoor activities.

I'm mostly a mountain biker these days, but enjoy mountaineering/walking and general outdoor/camping activities.

I'm keen to get a jacket with a hood that can be used in a range of conditions and not be *too* warm whilst being active so good ventilation would be important.

I'm aware of the various products from the well-known brands (Buffalo, Montane & Paramo) although I have no experience of any of them. I suspec that the lighter variants might suit me best.

Any recommendations?

locum76

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 9, 2005
Kirkliston
Check out Mardale, thier kit is made in England and is easily as good as Buffalo at half the price.

para106

Jul 24, 2009
scotland
That looks like a good deal and I'll have a think. It might be a bit warm though.

What is the Montane Krypton jacket like?

It's pretty breathable & you can open the side vents. Forgot about the Mardale stuff - never had any but it has a good name. Have a look at the Snugpak stuff too, sometimes you can pick up a good deal. Don't know about the Montane stuff. Cheers

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
I had a Montane , IMO very good for the price easily as well built as a Buffalo , just Bomb proof in its construction.
My only quibble with it was that is was a tad tight in the sizing issues , they just don't seem to be a generously cut as the Buffalo.

Chrisj

Nomad
Oct 14, 2009
Gwynedd