Trying out juniper as tinder

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Moonraker

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 20, 2004
Dorset & France
Had some fun testing different types of tinder from local materials yesterday in the sunshine. I was on the local Causse Comtal (limestone plateau/ steppe which is a wild, rocky, dry and generally sparse terrain), covered mostly with juniper bushes (Juniperus communis) with very few trees and hard grazed grass.

I am no expert but thought I would share my experience using this material and technique.

This was a dead stick from a fallen juniper from which I removed the outer bark, then used the knife to scrap off very fine shavings from the bast (inner bark layer). It was quite hard work with the SAK as the wood is pretty tough especially when seasoned and I didn't have the puukko with me, but I got there. I was scraping almost perpendicular to the wood with the blade and 'drawing' it towards me with my hand closing up on the blade to give more control, rather than cutting feathers as such.

bush-juniper_tinder-02.jpg

I then found a naturally forked piece of wood and raised it above the stone which was cold and placed the juniper shavings into the fork. This aided the free flow of air around the tinder and hold it above the cool rock which might retard the initial flames. After a few strikes with the BlastMatch firesteel dropping hot sparks onto the shaving bundle it was nicely ablaze, and took well with some breeze to help it on it's way.

I used the outer bark which had been removed and crushed it up between my hands, rolling it into a ball. Then teased (pulled) it apart to allow more air gaps and used that to build the fire from here.

The natural oils in the juniper really helped as an initial tinder. A bit like fatwood I guess?

bush-juniper_tinder-03.jpg