Troublesome rucks: KSF, Särmä, Savotta, Berghaus, TT, and Wisport—help!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Siberian Mongoose

Tenderfoot
Aug 9, 2023
Lemonwood Rez, NZ
After my disastrous introductory post, morphing from one thing to another and back again (i’m not good at typing, but good at pressing the wrong buttons!) and i’m no good at small talk, i now start my first proper post being about my disastrous buying of a large rucksack. ;) I’m hoping that anyone here can be of help to me, as in New Zealand i cannot try any cordura rucksacks that have the capability of having sidepockets attached.

Most available here are the lowest common denominator; however, one can get DD Hammocks, Morakniv, and Fällkniven (i prefer convex grinds), plus some &cs.

Last year i bought an olive green Karrimor SF Predator 80-130 rucksack, being imported from the UK; and unforeseen, as i don‘t have a manly shape to my body :oops:: the total width across the shoulderstraps is much too wide for me, each arm easily touching the side of the strap when back is adjusted correctly (closer to the top of the range than to the bottom); and the hipbelt is too short where it matters for me, it just reaching the centre of my iliac crest. I was disappointed; i like the bag of the Predator, it having all that i want in a large rucksack…most unfortunate about the harness though of which is completely removable (see below), apart from the lumberpad which actually fits me on top of my buttocks (to get perfect here, bending of the lamels (stays, or whatever they get called) being easily done).

At the very least, beware of the KSF SA-system should one have narrow shoulders—your hips may vary.