Thoughts and courses for next year

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

sandsnakes

Life Member
May 22, 2006
West London
As usual cut paste add to list.

If the Moot is going to be longer a few thoughts for things that could be useful

Map reading- dont know about you lot but I am self taught so proper map reading could be useful.
Kids map reading with an simple orientering course game.

Twoflower

Nomad
May 11, 2007
Northants
Map reading- dont know about you lot but I am self taught so proper map reading could be useful.
Kids map reading with an simple orientering course game.

Switch and myself were discussing doing this along with the usual ways of finding your way in the woods etc .. but personally I'm not sure I'd be confident sharing my skills with others (y'know, what with me being shy an all that!).

Scrumpy

Forager
Mar 18, 2008
Silverstone
www.predatorsport.co.uk
After a discussion with a few others and after watching George "make fire with just string" the idea was born "Beat the man", the man being the provider, Tesco's!
The gist is we all start in the main parachute in teams, each team has chosen a method to make fire, the more confident you are the harder the method your team chooses. The whistle blows and the chosen driver has to walk to his/her car, drive to Tesco's, buy some matches, drive back and make a fire, this should take around 45+ mins. Mean while the teams have gathered what they need from the woods and assembled back at the parachute to make the fire before the driver. Sounds easy but with a little rain even a kids team armed with a lighter would find it challenging.

rich59

Maker
Aug 28, 2005
London
There could be a number of fire challenges - first to ember with .... bowdrill, fire plough, fire saw (some of those could be days, not minutes or seconds!)

firecrest

Mar 16, 2008
uk