Storm Matches

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
Lifeboat matches, storm matches, hurricane matches. They seem to go by different names, but all of them seem to be the sort that still light when you have dropped them in a stream, and are supposed to stay alight even in a modest breeze. That's the theory.

I want to get a small pack for an emergency kit, purely for lighting candles. Are they all created equal? Can anyone recommend a reliable rugged set of lifeboat matches?

J

Quixoticgeek

Aug 4, 2013
Europe
Would a ration packet suffice, if so i have a few of them kicking about.

Ration packet? Are they the ones included in the UK 24 hour rat packs? I have no experience of them, but I'm guessing so?

Can you get these in your area?
http://www.mec.ca/product/5022-110/uco-stormproof-matches/

These are impressive!
A short video:
http://youtu.be/BQAkZYYdXkU

That is rather impressive, and it looks like they are available in the uk:

http://www.thebushcraftstore.co.uk/uco-stormproof-matches-2859-p.asp

Julia

bb07

Native
Feb 21, 2010
Rupert's Land
An excellent item in the wind or rain I would think. I haven't actually used them myself but if they perform as shown in the video then I would like to have some.

Robmc

Nomad
Sep 14, 2013
St Neots Cambs
When I was a kid, we used to buy matches around bonfire night. I'm sure they were called Bengal Matches and they worked in much the same way as the Storm Matches. They were pretty cheap and very effective.

Anybody know if you can still get them?

Joonsy

Native
Jul 24, 2008
UK