Oxford Wild Food Walk

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
It may be a little bit early in the year, but with all the green stuff leaping out of the ground at the moment, I'm anxious to get out and start some foraging around the local woods and fields. I hasten to add that I'm no expert - far from it - but wondered if any of the other Oxford locals might fancy a day out searching for and sharing knowledge of some of the wild goodies around here.

For myself, I'd be inclined to go to Bagley Wood or Radley Wood, or one of the nature reserves in Dry Sandford (accepting that you can't pick stuff there but you may see some interesting things). Wytham Wood is probably good, but I don't know it. Jarn Mound / Matthew Arnold Field would also be a good location together with some of the footpaths that cross Boars Hill, but if anyone does want to meet up and has their own preferred places, just say so...or ignore this posting! I'll be going out myself in any case, armed with my small, but heavy, library of books.

Geoff

Bootstrap Bob

Jun 21, 2006
Oxfordshire
Geoff
Wouldn't mind doing this but I'm a bit tide up for the next 4 weekends due to other commitments :( Well at least one of them is putting up a new shed/workshop :)

In the mean time you might want to get in touch with 'Bushcraft Bob' who is from round these parts too, it sounds like he is looking for somewhere to go bushcrafting.

bushcraftbob

Settler
Jun 1, 2007
Oxfordshire
I would be up for a walkabout - I have a Wytham permit which allows me to bring friends too - you arent allowed to pick anything, but again lots of things to see etc.