Making a wooden bowl....(I hope) !!56k warning!!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

JonnyP

Oct 17, 2005
Cornwall...
Ok, while I wait for some leather to make a knife sheaf, I thought I would have a go at making a wooden bowl.....So up to the shed, out with the chainsaw, one bit of seasoned, but damp cherry wood, I start by taking a slice off of it. (I am no expert on this and could be making loads of mistakes, ie grain going in the wrong direction etc, but hey ho....I am a bit worried that the wood is damp, and may split when done, so I am going to dry it out as slowly as poss....
dsc00248nv2.jpg

Slice is taken off the side, then its out with the axe. I havent given my GB mini much use yet so I use that one.....
dsc00249mi3.jpg

I start to hack away at it to make it bowl shaped...
dsc00250rm0.jpg

Its now roughly bowl shaped, so I mark a circle on the top and bottom...
dsc00251lw0.jpg

more chopping and its taking shape now....
dsc00252gi7.jpg

That will do for now after about 1 hours work...
dsc00253xy4.jpg

Will put up more when I next get back onto it....

JonnyP

Oct 17, 2005
Cornwall...
woodwalker said:
Looks brilliant! Do you have access to an adze or similar heavy duty tool, as that could be a lot of work for something as small as a crooked knife.

The more extreme option would be to build a pole lathe or stick it in a regular lathe.

It has the makings of a great bowl though, keep up the good work.

woodwalker
Cheers Woodwalker, I do not have an adze, I nearly bought a small hand held one once, but it was expensive, and I thought I would not use it much :rolleyes:
I am going to do the bowl work with my spoon knife, it gonna take a while, I know.