Kids

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
I was walking my dog yesterday, I go through a clump of woods(very small) but I bumped into a gang of kids who were sawing the branch of a tree that was hanging over the track (the tree was dead). I asked what they were upto and was told they trying to make a run for their bmx's, so I left them to it. As I was going through today I noticed a bit of blue tarp hanging up, so I went to investigate and I found the tarp set like a shelter with 6ft bamboo canes as poles, 5 folding chairs a few spades, some forks and a little area where they had had a fire going. I went back at about 6pm hoping they would be there so I could tell them about fire safety (i used to be a fire safety officer many years ago). but alas no one was there. Then I thought to my self these lads have been watching ray mears over the weekend and like the idea of it, unfortunatley it could all end in disaster as one of the bamboo poles was about 6 inches away from the fire. I wish schools would teach kids about his sort of stuff. I cannae complain myself as my mates and i used to go up the river carron and do the exact same thing.
I'am sort of lost to the point I was trying to get over now. :confused:

Maybe it was just education education education

and a little fun

should we have some sort of outdoor courses compulsary in schools?

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
jongir said: