Is there a book, or a website...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Sep 5, 2005
london
which explains the law on wild food, in plain english? I'm a novice trying to learn this, and there seem to be endless complications, but nowhere to find out what is allowed and what isn't. I want a really nice, simple list, like this! -

Animals you cannot catch - blah blah blah
Birds you cannot catch - flap flap
Protected fish - gurgle gurgle
Traps you must not use - etc
Traps you can use but not on sundays if it's raining - etc
Animals you need a license for -

Illegals ways of catching bunnies -
Illegal ways of catching squirrels -
and so on for every animal and fish

What you must never ever do in an SSSI - this, that, and the other...
A complete list of SSSI's in the UK - etc

Surely, someone, somewhere has written something to make it nice and simple? :confused: ;) :rolleyes:

Reactions: Ed

Laurence Dell

Forager
Aug 24, 2004
Sevenoaks, Kent
bardsandwarriors said:
which explains the law on wild food, in plain english? I'm a novice trying to learn this, and there seem to be endless complications, but nowhere to find out what is allowed and what isn't. I want a really nice, simple list, like this! -
Animals you cannot catch - blah blah blah
Birds you cannot catch - flap flap
Protected fish - gurgle gurgle
Check out the Wildlife & Countryside Act 1981

bardsandwarriors said:
What you must never ever do in an SSSI - this, that, and the other...
A complete list of SSSI's in the UK - etc
All the SSSI are listed on English Nature's website and the damaging operations are included somewhere in the details.
Here is the link for this bit http://www.english-nature.org.uk/special/sssi/

As for traps and snares etc try this to get you started http://www.basc.org.uk/content/basc_response_to_the_defr

Sep 5, 2005
london