Good ol' Grayling

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Silverhill

Maker
Apr 4, 2010
Derbyshire
I'm still very new to the Bushcraft UK forum, but I thought I'd just see if any of you guys have ever considered Grayling as a decent source of food as an alternative to that 4lb wild brownie sitting in the deep pool that you never manage to bring to the bank?

I've been an avid fisherman since the day I was born (my old man saw to that!:rolleyes:) and I've always seemed shocked by the way that many fishermen who catch and eat (a rarity these days!) seem to ignore the trusty Grayling, and often regard them as an inferior species when in fact, the grayling has more in common with the Salmon than the Trout!

Although the Grayling is perceived to be a relatively difficult fish to catch due to the majority being caught by trotting with a nymph or similar, I've had tremendous success in deeper water by freelining or indeed by fixed ledger. I have heard of people catching large numbers with a running ledger but I feel that by the time you've registered that you have a bite, the Grayling would've swallowed the bait too far ensure a return to the water once landed (if catch and release is your intention).

In terms of eating the Grayling is easy to prepare, with a simple gutting and cleaning before it's ready for the fire. I often carry a little dry thyme in a container mixed with some crushed black pepper for seasoning before using the tin-foil method or frying. Once cooked, the flesh turns a milky-white colour and is totally moreish!:D

Your thoughts and suggestions are most welcome, and if you hadn't considered the Grayling, I hope that next time you have the opportunity you'll give it a go.

bushcraftbob

Settler
Jun 1, 2007
Oxfordshire