Finding the North Star.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wayland

Hárbarðr
No great insights here but I've just seen this great animation on Wikipedia.

Zirkumpolar_ani.gif

Thought you might like it too.

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
That great!

I usually work off the plough or Cassiopeia depending on time, I have found when I can pick up one of them, polaris is easy - and, being the idiot I am, they are very bright and recognisable. But other than orion and one or two they are all I can pick out from memory!

Red

Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
i'm not taking the micky, nor is this fact as I am not an expert, but I seem to remember being told to stand looking into the sky and spin round, the one that stands out is polaris, or is that syrus ?

Edit:

I now realise that if it doesn't work, I shall not hear anyway, shall I ?

Last edited:
Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
Polaris is most definitely NOT the brightest point in the night sky.

beetle juice ?

If someone who knows about stars could tell me which one that is, obviously it may be country and season specific.

(Bietelgieus ?)

edit: to make it clear from the first attempt at conveying whats in my head into letters words and then sentences-

if you know about stars which star it the one where you look into the sky and turn round re the last post.

Last edited:
Jul 30, 2012
westmidlands
It's the left shoulder of Orion.

touched by nature

nah not that one, the one in the other post where you stand looking up into the sky whilst singing the theme to superman. Is bietelgeuis the brightest though?

Edit.

Just looked , beetle juice is the brightest object other than our own solar system, if you go by non visible light, I knew it rang a bell.

Last edited:

Gray

Sep 18, 2008
Scouser living in Salford South UK