Does anybody recognize this tree

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SoloBoy

Tenderfoot
Jul 5, 2005
Liverpool
Great thanks torjusg,can it be tapped then? Feel a bit guilty about cutting it down,but it is a sunblocker.Am i doing the right thing?

torjusg

Native
Aug 10, 2005
Telemark, Norway
livingprimitively.com
I don't think this specie is very tappable, but I have no experience with tapping maple trees. I have little experience with it at all. This tree seems quite abused, so I would have cut it. It seems like there are some good ladles in some of those bends. :)

Torjus Gaaren

rich59

Maker
Aug 28, 2005
London
Is all that shiny stuff the sap running from wounds? What are the leaf shapes like?

Looks like it has sap to spare.

Don Redondo

Forager
Jan 4, 2006
NW Wales
I'll put on my proffesional hat here.

It looks like a badly pruned sycamore, in need of re-pollarding.

Don't automatically fell it or wade in and hack it back, you need to check with your local council planning section, and ask whether your address is in a 'conservation area' or whether the tree is covered by a preservation order [TPO], or if there are any planning conditions.

remember felling a tree that is subject to either conservation area or TPO restrictions without first gaining permission from the local planning authority is a criminal offence..... even a specimen as butchered as that!