Dave Budd mk II crook knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
I bought one of Dave Budds new style crook knifes at the Bushmoot and just wanted to share my personal impressions of it with folks.

First of all I just want to say I am a total novice when it comes to spoon carving and my impressions should be taken as that. In fact I have only carved one spoon that I've been willing to show people (which you can see in the first picture). The only other crook knife I have experience of is the frosts version and I just could not get on with it at all.

I bought the small version which is designed more for spoons and smaller items. Dave does another version which has a longer sweeping profile which allows for deeper cuts such as for bowl carving. The difference in blade length is approximately 25-30mm and the blade is less curved. He does all the manufacturing of the knife including the handles himself and he was very happy to demonstrate how to sharpen and maintain it.

As you can see it comes with a coffin shaped ash handle which is hexagonal in cross section. It felt really comfortable to handle and I didn't feel any pressure points building up in my hand when I was using it. I felt totally in control which gave me extra confidence when I started to use it.

The knife cut very easily and removed wood quite quickly without much effort at all. I was able to do very precise shaving with it when cleaning up the bowl. It cuts very cleanly and didn't leave any jagged areas and I never felt I was having to use extra force to cut.