Confiscation forces new Leatherman purchase - which?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

outdoorgirl

Sep 25, 2004
nr Minehead
OK, so having just returned home via CDG Paris, where they confiscated and destroyed my tusty old Leatherman (hey, I chose Valet Service instead of checking it in the hold - sue me...) - I now need a new Leatherman. Which would you recommend / what do you have experience of? My origial was a PST of some description but I've had it so long I don't remember which... :)

ODG

Stew

Bushcrafter through and through
Nov 29, 2003
Aylesbury
stewartjlight-knives.com
I've been using the Wave nearly every day for a good 5 years and I'm perfectly happy with it.

I've not tried any other models or brands but have never felt the need to.

anthonyyy

Settler
Mar 5, 2005
ireland
You can often avoid problems like that by carrying a self addressed envelope. Just post the offending item to yerself.
You can usually buy stamps at airports or stations.

Nov 29, 2004
Scotland
A 'Crunch', I don't think they make them anymore but there are usually some to be found on ebay. Definitely the most 'friendly' looking Leatherman because it only has a single, very small blade.

It's also possibly the only multitool that you can service your car with.

Stuart

Sep 12, 2003
the old wave model is one of the best they every made, unfortunatly I am disapointed with the new version.

the new charge Ti is the best model they currently make

pteron

Acutorum Opifex
Nov 10, 2003
Wiltshire
pteron.org
I had my wave stolen (along with a couple of sailing knives) when checked on a Brest to Soton flight so had to buy another. Fortunately, I spent the summer in Canada and had chance to play with the new wave and charge Ti. I went for the Charge (plus its bit sets) and am very pleased with it.

2blackcat

Nomad
Nov 30, 2004
bromley