Canadian job market

Can any canadian members help me please.

I am putting in my application for permanent residence under the skilled worker program and want to know what the job markets really like over there.

Im a carpenter/builder and experienced timber framer and my wife is a marketing exec for the automotive industry.

I would like to live in either BC or Alberta (has to be near lots of forest and mountains :) )

Is Canada really in need of skilled labour or is it hype.
Would i be welcome on the building sites or would they see me like we do with Polish builders in Britain (no training and always undercutting us brits).

Also whats the land prices like?
I want to buy about a hundred acres of half forest half cleared land with maybe an old farm house or cabin so that i can do abit of subsistence farming,hunting and bushcraft :)

I have been to Canada a few times and i find Canadians to be the most friendliest and helpful people on the planet and my father grew up there after the war so for me this would be my dream come true.

Stu

addyb

Native
Jul 2, 2005
Vancouver Island, Canada.
stoRE,

I'm a Canadian, eh?

Here's my city: Nanaimo The picture of the walkway is of the seawall where I take my morning walk, every morning, without fail.

Here's Vancouver: Vancouver

The job market here, no matter what you're doing, is freaking nuts.