camper van

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

william#

Settler
Sep 5, 2005
sussex
im looking at spending the summer in a camper van this year work is flexible enough and i have saved enough so i can do it . as i am completely new to this kind of thing does any one have any top tips .i mean i dont want or can buy anything top of the range .
ive been looking at getting a plane old transit and just putting in a therma rest i mean how much gadgets do u really need if you are just out for the summer - besides i hope to be out in the wood or the on the mountains most of the time just want the flexiblity to move around . and im not one for guest houses or b and b s also as i am getting beyond my prime now carrying everything on the back is not really an option these days - well not more than a few days at a time

JonnyP

Oct 17, 2005
Cornwall...
The only advise I can give you on this is that many camp sites do not allow vans, but maybe you are not planning to stay at camp sites..............Jon

Wayland

Hárbarðr
I have adapted my van with a removeable deck about halfway up the cargo compartment.

This means you can sleep on the deck but still load all your gear underneath.

We spent 7 weeks touring Northern Scandinavia in it last year and it gets used regularly for shorter trips.

william#

Settler
Sep 5, 2005
sussex
no not really planing to stay on sites if i can help it i dont think i have much in common with the on site people.
im looking into really speding time completeing my ml qualification

demographic

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 15, 2005
-------------
If your going to put plywood on the floor of the van it's worth putting a couple of layers of underlay under it to provide some insulation.