birch polyphore

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Miyagi

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 6, 2008
South Queensferry
Where me and my dog will be walking today there are plenty of birch.

As well as picking up tinder etc for future use, I'll have a look for these.

Will they be around at this time of year? I've never used polypore before but have just briefly googled it.

Miyagi

Aug 6, 2008
South Queensferry
Picked two very large beauties over the weekend. So yep, still around :)

I never noticed any, though I'd changed my route so missed the usual crop of Birch, on the few trees I passed.

Will have a good look today on the route I'd planned to walk.

Miyagi

Aug 6, 2008
South Queensferry
Went for a bimble under the Forth Road bridge, where I know there are a few young and older birch trees.

Found three fine specimens of birch polypore about the size of a 3 egg Omelette.

Having got home I checked my Collins Complete British Wildlife Guide to confirm - ding dong!!!

Now I know for definate that's what they are, I'll harvest them tomorrow.

Do they need any special prep'?, I intend to add them to my fire kit for one thing.

I'll gather more red papery birch bark curlings as well.

Thanks in advance.

Liam

EDIT; I used the search function and have found the answer on other birch polpore threads.

Last edited:

shogun

Need to contact Admin...
Mar 31, 2009
U.K
hi i didnt no what birch polypore was i have just googled it i have seen this growing on tree's sure its the same stuff seen it last week & there ws a lot of it growing..how is this used?? thanx shogun

Miyagi

Aug 6, 2008
South Queensferry
hi i didnt no what birch polypore was i have just googled it i have seen this growing on tree's sure its the same stuff seen it last week & there ws a lot of it growing..how is this used?? thanx shogun