Article: Matt Simmons: Fieldcrafter-uk knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Diving Duck

Oct 2, 2013
South Wales
I bought the knife after reading the review on here, I showed it to a mate who likes all-weather camping up the Brecon Beacons, he said "Beautiful, but too sharp for my liking" a joy to use IMO made by a master craftsman

Greg

Jul 16, 2006
Pembrokeshire
Well as mentioned John let me get my hands on the knife when out in the woods recently...
It is a very nice looking knife that is well weighted...I did find the handle a little narrow for me and personally would have to ask Matt to make it a bit fatter if I ever got around to buying one...but I'm no expert and I'll leave any real feed back to the lads who will eventually own one of Matts knives :)

Nov 13, 2012
durham
Break it? I'd like to see you try ;) My knives don't break, 3mm is more than thick enough. If Mors kochanski can stand on a 2.5mm mora with it embedded in a log and it not break (stick tang) how do you think a 3mm full tang knife would cope? :)

It is not the blade I would be concerned about breaking, it is the scales. A bit of carless battoning might damage the wood :aargh4:. I use it for carving and it is the best knife I have used for the task :notworthy. Probably a bit over cautious, but I love the thing and I will treat it with loving care :rolleyes:. Where as the Fieldcrafter knife, I will batter the heck out of it and not worry about the mircarta scales. I had a go at carving with it and will do it, but not as good as my SPB 1.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire
No worries mate :) What scales does it have on? I've made loads of em, and can't remember which was which :)