Any tips for sharpening scandi knives?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

JakeR

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 18, 2004
Cardiff
Try a search...

If the puukko has a secondary bevel on it then IMO it i slightly more complicated. what i did was grind off the secondary bevel with wet'n'dry paper. But you can of course do it with ordinary stones.

If it has a scandi grind then tis easy. Simply lay bevel flat on bench stone and push away. If you have Ray Mears essential bushcraft he does a good tutorial in that.

What kind of stones/equiptment do you have as i could go on for hours!!

:wink:

shinobi

Settler
Oct 19, 2004
Eastbourne, Sussex.
www.sussar.org
Rhapsody said:
I'm no expert on these things and don't want to screw up my new puukko... :?:

Lot's of hard work... at first :eek:):

I guess it depends if you want to get rid of the secondary bevel or not? I've spent the best part of a day getting rid of mine and I'm not sure if I've done the right thing :shock:
Still, It's my first Puukko, so I'm experimenting before I get an expensive knife to ruin !!

I'm hoping someone at the Ashdown Moot will be able to show me where I'm going wrong. :)

Cheers,

Martin

JakeR

Jan 18, 2004
Cardiff
But you'll have to bring along the stones, as im only bringing pocket stones and my st**kie ;)

Gary

Apr 17, 2003
from Essex
Rhapsody said:
I'm no expert on these things and don't want to screw up my new puukko... :?:

If this has been answered before, I'd be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction. Thanks a lot!

Just take your time and make sure your full bevel is in contact with the stone and you will be fine.

Andy

Native
Dec 31, 2003
sheffield
www.freewebs.com