Hello to all, can you help with advice about fire under a tarp?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Aug 29, 2017
Here
Hello,

I'm Jim, I'm new to the forum. I'm involved with our local Scout Group and trying to get my boy away from his phone/nintendo/playstation so I'm trying to do a bit more outdoor stuff. I'm still a complete noob so please be gentle if I ask stupid questions.

My son and I are going away at the weekend, nothing too exciting, just a tent in the woods at our scout campsite. But we will be cooking over the fire all weekend and using it to keep us warm in the evening. The weather looks like it might be wet so my question is about how to keep the fire going all weekend. Can I put it under a tarpaulin, I'm worried it will burn. Sorry if this is sounds daft........

Wayne

Mod
Mod
Dec 7, 2003
West Sussex
www.forestknights.co.uk
Nylon has a low melting point so if the tarp is too low then there is a chance sparks will melt holes into your tarp. If the fire is too large there's a chance for damage to your tarp.

I have small cooking fires under tarps and shelters all the time. I'm just careful with the fuel I use and the size of the fire.

Reactions: BEARDMASTER

gonzo_the_great

Forager
Nov 17, 2014
Poole, Dorset. UK
As mentioned, light weight PU nylon tarps, can be damaged. I have lots of patches on my DD tarp, because of this.
But if you are car camping and using just a household tarp or similar, then small sparks probably won't be an issue.

Choose the orientation of the tarp carefully. If you have a breeze going across the shelter (rather than coming from behind or into the front), any smoke will be carried away, and not blown/circulated into your shelter. You can always close in sides of the shelter, towards the back, if the wind is too much for you.