Stainless Billies

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

madelinew

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2008
Isle of Wight
I tried to post this yesterday but think it got lost so apologies if I am repeating myself. I am after some decent stainless billy cans and the only ones I can find are on Ray Mears website. They are about £15 each. I don't like cooking with aluminium and I want to invest in something I like. I'm just starting out in all this so don't know a good price if it smacks me in the face.

Is this a case of getting what you pay for and are there any other places I can get stainless ones from? They look rather nice but his site shop does seem a bit pricey.

h2o

Settler
Oct 1, 2007
ribble valley
I think the price of the zebra billys on rays site are well priced.they are hard to find and they seem to have had good reviews.Having said that they seem quite heavy.

madelinew

Tenderfoot
Jun 1, 2008
Isle of Wight
Cheers. I'm not too bothered about weight because my back isn't up to carting stuff around on it anyway and I'm restricted to getting to my destinations by car - shhh you didn't hear me say that!

I have degenerative osteo-arthritis in my spine and although I won't let it rule my life, I have my limits :)

Sadly that limits how far I can get from the beaten track.

I'll order Ray's billies - I did like the look of them

fishy1

Banned
Nov 29, 2007
sneck
If weight is not a problem, why not just buy a set of cheap standard stainless steel cooking pans? If you are careful, the handles won't melt, and you can add a handle with wire and a drill.

Mosnan

Tenderfoot
Apr 25, 2008
Leeds
I've just purchased the 2.5l & 4l Tatonka kettles from sailgb.com (no connection etc)