Speyside way advice wanted

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Calurix

Need to contact Admin...
Mar 12, 2010
Moray, Scotland
Hi Everyone,

I'm intending on walking the Speyside way (South to North) on the third week in April. I have never done a long distance walk before and would appreciate any info anyone has about this walk or undertaking a long distance walk. I will be walking on my own and am intending taking a tent or a bivvy bag and tarp, Is the bivvy bag/tarp a suitable combo ?.

Thanks in advance for any info or advice you can give.

Regards,
Cal

JAG009

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 20, 2010
Under your floor
The best tip i can give you is take just what you need and no more ,10 to 12 kg max is easily achievable if you pack right
As for shelter take what you are comfortable with or better still your lightest shelter ,and enjoy your walk

Jason

Ps that weight i gave you includes all of your food and 1l of water for you to drink as you walk

Dogoak

Jan 24, 2009
Cairngorms
As others have said, the lighter your kit, the more you will enjoy it. Don't know how you are getting to the start, but you could always drop off a couple of food stash's on your way :)

gabrielsdad

Need to contact Admin...
Feb 6, 2012
north staffs