PSK fishing kit, how do I use it??

taws6

Nomad
Jul 27, 2007
Anglia
Hi,

After lugging this tiny fishing kit around, I thought it was time I learned how to use it!

I've never been fishing before, so I'm a real newbie.

Basicly, this kit contains line, 4 tiny hooks, 4 weights, and 4 metal hoops with a clip on it.

I know the hock goes on the end of the line(!), but how does the rest go together??
Do I have to cut the line in 4, or do they all go on 1 long line??

I'm sure I read a write up about this, but I couldn't find it after searching, so any pointers would be great.....

Thanks for the help

Ahjno

Vice-Adminral
Admin
Aug 9, 2004
Rotterdam (NL)
www.bushcraftuk.com
Are you talking about the NATO fishing kit or a little set from one of those baccy tins?

EItherway it basically depends on the circumstances you are in. You can cut the line, BUT that'll restrict you in its use. You can configure it as 1 long line with smaller lines at about 50 cm interval (do the hooks already have a small bit of line attached to them?). If the hooks have a bit of line on them (say apprx. 1ft), then you can stake them in a riverbank, on the riverbed, or attached to sturdy plants.

The NATO kit line is thicker so is very suited for a long line. In an emergency you can use it for snares (so they say).

I'd say to keep it in 1 piece and only cut it up if you have to (for instance when you find yourself near a large body of water and you have a permit to catch fish - you can make up a set up using a pole).