Newbie question - Leather, where to start?

sparkplug

Forager
Jan 24, 2008
East Anglia
I've seen some great leatherwork on here and it has really inspired me to have a go at some simple projects.

I've had a look at the Le Prevo website and realised just how much stuff there is available out there!

Can someone suggest a good book for a total beginner and / or what you would suggest as basic essential tools.

I realise this might be difficult to suggest without me having a specific project in mind, but I'd like to have a go at dyeing as well as stitching something. I'll probably start with a keyring or something and then work my way up to a knife sheath.

Thanks! :)

Buckshot

Mod
Mod
Jan 19, 2004
Oxford
The simple and unhelpful answer is 'it depends'

For example, I've done some braiding and for that you need very little apart from the leather itself
If you're thinking of projects like sheaths, moccasins and yes key rings then some tools are a real help - although few, if any, are essential.
leather needles are normally blunt. You could take a normal needle and blunt the end a little. I've done it and it works fine.
A stitching wheel and stitch groover are very handy but you can use a ruler to measure the size of the stitches and indent the leather to create a groove rather than cut some out.
I think Rapid boy's sheath making tutorial shows most of the tools that most people normally use so have a look there.
Also what kind of leather are you thinking of?
Again, most use veg tanned because it holds it's shape (used for sheaths and possibles bags etc) but something like crome tanned can be good for items that need to be supple (moccasins for example)

Assuming that you want to use veg tanned leather and do the normal sorts of things (sheaths etc) then the tools I'd suggest are:
sharp knife
edge beveler
stitch/edge groover
stitching wheel
pliers (I tend to use my leatherman)
contact adhesive
some clamps to hold the piece while the glue sets