Metal work advice

Globetrotter.uk

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 24, 2008
Norwich UK
Ok don't laugh ......Yet

I have made stuff before but with all the great stuff I keep seeing here, I thought I would ask my close friends for some pointers.

I am going to make a billie kit and have most of the raw stuff needed, my question is

1. what the easiest way the measure the can for drilling the air holes around a tin. so they are equal.

2. pan grip or removeable handle?

3. joining metal together - welding, solder or rivets etc?

Aragorn

Settler
Aug 20, 2006
Wrexham, North Wales
Ok don't laugh ......Yet

I have made stuff before but with all the great stuff I keep seeing here, I thought I would ask my close friends for some pointers.

I am going to make a billie kit and have most of the raw stuff needed, my question is

1. what the easiest way the measure the can for drilling the air holes around a tin. so they are equal.

i'm no expert, but the way i would go about it,

1 strip of paper wrapped aroun the tin, cut so the two ends just meet, divide the paper into equal sections then place back around the tin and drill where marked

2 i prefer a fixed handle, some change these to a wire handle on small billies to make them easier to stow, your preferance really

3 if your making your kit based on the tea'coffee tins/cuttlery drainers etc, i think they will be too thin to weld, with arc anyway, not sure about mig or tig, for ease again i would be tempted to rivet

hope that gives some ideas

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Ok don't laugh ......Yet

Don't worry Globetrotter, the dumbest question is the one you don't ask - at least this way you get an answer.
Easiest way to get equi-distant holes is to wrap a length of paper around the outside and mark the circumference. Then remove it and fold to get the number of hole centres, replace the paper and mark the holes.