its time for an axe

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

GlenM

Forager
Jan 11, 2006
Cornwall
although i am still new to the world of bushcraft,i feel its time to purchase an axe.i am aware of the virtues of gransfor bruks axes but i"m not sure where to buy one. can anyone help me ??

M

magicaltrevor

Hi, I've recently upgraded to 2 axes! I'm building up quite an arsenal!

I previously got the Wildlife Hatchet as a gift which is very nice and often used it instead of a knife for some jobs. However I'd previously set my heart on the Small Forest Axe so I treated myself as an early christmas pressie. Got the hatchet from Woodlore and the Forest Axe from Survival School . There are of course others mentioned on this Forum which are just as good but I'd personally buy from Survival School again as the service is excellent!

Razorstrop

Nomad
Oct 1, 2005
North West
I agree Outdoorcode is the way to go.

As for choice, the Wildlife hatchet is a good first tool, but later on you'll be hankering for a Small Forest Axe, for some of those bigger jobs.

My opinion

Mr Strop

leon-1

glen.manning@virgin.net said:
although i am still new to the world of bushcraft,i feel its time to purchase an axe.i am aware of the virtues of gransfor bruks axes but i"m not sure where to buy one. can anyone help me ??

Glen, I have a suggestion here which runs against the flow of what everyone else is telling you, so I am expecting the satndard burn the heretic type of reaction:D.

If it is your first axe and you have little experience of axes don't get a Gransfors Bruks, as the others have mentioned they are very good tools, but if you damage a £50 GB SFA you will be a little annoyed.