In Praise of Rays...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

KevB

Forager
Oct 19, 2005
Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK
Just a quick note on the RM Aussie Hootchie in case anyone's thinking of buying one.

I've been using tarps for a few years now in various guises but have never really felt happy with any of the four that I've collected. For the last couple of years I've been using a standard Hennessy Diamond in the summer and a Hennessey Hex when it looked like heavy rain or I was needing a two man setup. However both had limitations. The standard was a bit small if you got caught out in some bad weather and the Hex was better suited to Kite-boarding if the wind got up!

Anyway I decided to get rid of the Hex and get something I was happy to use all year round. I'm a lightweight backpacker so I was aware that there are some incredibly lightweight/expensive tarps out there but I also needed to consider durability when not backpacking.

I did the usual research on this forum and elsewhere for reviews and opinions and almost plumped for a lightweight Silnylon model but decided that the 1.45m width was just a little too small. Looking at the RM Aussie Hootchie I decided that the size was about right and that the weight still wasn't too bad considering the increased durability - no surprise there then as the Hootchie has been praised by many! However like many others I initially balked at the price of £60!