How to open a new campsite???

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

gorilla

Settler
Jun 8, 2007
merseyside, england
i'd just like to thank everyone for their ongoing ideas and encouragement. i'm in derbyshire next week for a couple of days, so i'm going to have a look round the peak area, and see if there is anything available. i think renting farmland is the way to go, and wil be focusing my search there. looks like it's time to clock up a few miles in the landy!

Toadflax

Native
Mar 26, 2007
Oxfordshire
The reasons are unfortunate, but you may well have picked a very good time to try renting farmland as I suspect that if I was a farmer, I would be looking for new sources of revenue at the moment.

I like the sound of the Peak District - not too far for me to travel.

Geoff

Nov 14, 2005
Northiam, East Sussex
I too have looked into this with a friend and we produced a draft business plan. Our biggest stumbing block is where we live in the south east and a general lack of suitable land and the major problem that the dream campsite we had envisaged was extremely unlikely to get off the ground.

We had a plan to buy some woodland (not quite as simple as that, we had something very specific in mind, but you get the gist!) and set up a bushcraft orientated campsite with a number of other attractions, BUT no matter what you buy unless it already IS a campsite, you will have to apply to the council for a 'change of use' for the land to turn it into a campsite and a comercial venture. Chances of getting such a change on a piece of actual woodland is extremely unlikely according to our local council.