How do you start your fires?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

pauljm116

Native
May 6, 2011
Rainham, Kent
Just wanted to find out how people start their fires generally.

I have used firesteels and various types of natural tinders and always tend to struggle, maybe I need to practice more! So I usually use a hexamine/esbit tablet as a base for my fire and then build on that. Does anyone else do it the lazy way or do you use flints and steels or other traditional methods? :)

treadlightly

Jan 29, 2007
Powys
I am no expert so even though I have a bent for natural methods I tend to use whatever is easiest in the conditions.

If its dry and I have time I will use flint and steel or ferro rod with charcloth to take a spark and a cramp ball to develop the ember. This is my favourite method.

Sometimes I use cotton wool balls and vaseline if its wet or time is tight.

Sometimes lighters or even matches especially to light my stove.

The Big Lebowski

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 11, 2010
Sunny Wales!
Fatwood shavings on a plinth with two good bundles of match stick twigs. Ferro rod but sometimes char cloth/cramp balls ect and tinder nests with flint and steel.

Keep trying with birch peelings and a ferro rod paul, a little practice go's a long way :) I might do a little video on the weekend if you are interested?

munkiboi182

Jan 28, 2012
taverham, thorpe marriott, norfolk