how do I handle Birch Bark?

firecrest

Mar 16, 2008
uk
I cut myself some Birch Bark off of a fallen log. On the same trip I also found some cramp balls and cat tail heads. With my little stash of supplies, Id like to make myself a little box or satchel thing to hold my tinder in. Ive never done any craft work with Birch Bark. Im an artist by nature, I can paint and make things, but I'm new to bushcraft.
Its dark on the inside - do I scrape all that off? Ive heard it makes good tinder, can I dry the stuff I scrape off?

Its not very thick, and tears easier than I thought it would. I dont know if all birch bark does this or if the log i got it off simply wasn't a good one. also I read somewhere to soak it first but I'm not sure. Ill show you all the finished result if you help me (and don't laugh!)

fishy1

Banned
Nov 29, 2007
sneck
I think birch bark in warmer climates tends to be thinner. I took off a piece the other day that was pretty thick and strong.

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
British birch bark tends to be very thin, and full of little slits where the lenticles run around the tree.

If you find a sound bit clean it carefully and work it warm. I find it easiest to create tubs and tubes if I wrap it slightly damp around a straight sided jar and wrap it with an old crepe bandage ( sounds weird but it really works) until it keeps that shape.

Mostly the bark I find is way too thin and slit to make something solid with so I laminate it, building up several layers.

Perhaps the best way for a beginner to use the bark is to cut it into strips across the bark and weave them.
One of my friends, the basketmaker Bryce Reynard works with birch like this....there are some examples on this website
http://www.westmossside.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=56&Itemid=163

I use linen thread for sewing the bark together but I have used spruce roots and even leather.
Best advice I could give is patience :rolleyes: :D

atb,
Toddy

firecrest