Hilleberg Akto experience

SCOMAN

Life Member
Dec 31, 2005
Perthshire
I spent a rather uncomfortable night in my MSR hubba (2004) recently being battered by not actually that strong winds. I'm looking for a new robust tent and came across the Hilleberg Akto. My search on here brought up a few purchases by people earlier in the year. What's been your experience of them? How are the tents in wind? is the footprint worth it? And is the tent worth the cost?

Nohoval_Turrets

Sep 28, 2004
Ireland
I've been using an Akto for over ten years. It's a fantastic tent.It will stand up to winds that flatten most tents. For really strong winds you can put a second pole in the same sleeve, but having been in several gales in this tent with just the one pole, I can't imagine what would require a second. It goes up in minutes - you'll be wriggling into your sleeping bag while others are still pushing tent poles in. The vestibule space is huge - you can really organise your gear there and save the space int he inner for you.

The downsides - it is quite low. I'm 5'6" and I can sort of sit up, but anyone taller couldn't. It requirs a surprising amount of space to set up - being a single pole design, it relies on the guylines to pull the shape out fully. It's also expensive of course, but I bought mine in 2003 or 2004 and it's still perfect. And that's with a LOT of use. It never leaked, tore, frayed or wore away. So I can vouch for the quality.

SCOMAN

Life Member
Dec 31, 2005
Perthshire
Cheers chum, I was just in Cotswold and one of the guys in there, that seemed to have some awareness of tents, did caution that the fabric was thin and not great abrasion-wise.

Brynglas

I've had my Auto for about five years and never had a problem, a great tent and worth the outlay. Weighs less than my bivvy bag, is roomy and the porch is big enough to cook in and store gear. I've certainly not experienced any weakness or abrasion in the fabric, nor for that matter have I heard it mentioned.