Help/advice. LEZ penalty charge.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

malley

Nov 17, 2008
Northumberland
I live in Northumberland.
I am a part time/hobbyist musician.
I was invited to play a gig in Dalston last week. I got paid expenses (fuel costs) only.
Yesterday I received two penalty notices advising that I'd entered the Low Emission Zone. My van is 1999.

First was as I entered London second as we left afterwards to go to my friends house in Wimbledon. Second was ten minutes after midnight, so classed as another day. I know.

These are for a minimum of £250 each. Increasing to £750 each in 14 days.

I had no idea about this. That is cited as being an unacceptable ground for appeal.

It is my first time there in many years.

Any suggestions - other than pay the fine - appreciated.

I cannot afford to pay them.

Cheers.
Steve.

bobnewboy

Native
Jul 2, 2014
West Somerset
I'm on the outskirts of London and would never take a vehicle in (except maybe my motorcycle). I'm afraid that the London authorities have a very bad rep for being hard on people without a legal escape, so you may find that this becomes a baliff type issue if you dont get onto it immediately. Sorry fella.

Gaudette

Aug 24, 2012
Cambs
Sad to say I don't give you much hope of getting off. The worst thing you can do is leave it I agree with the last post you must deal with it immediately.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

malley

Nov 17, 2008
Northumberland
Ok. Pretty grim outlook then.
Research seems to suggest that you should only receive a warning for the first offence. That you will be fined NEXT time. I shall pursue that line.

Immensely frustrating. I had no bloody idea!!

bob_the_baker

May 22, 2012
Swansea