Fourdog Titanium Stove - initial thoughts

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

thingswelike

Forager
Jun 15, 2007
Peak District
Hi all
Well I fired up my Fourdog stove for the first time on Friday and was impressed. As a complete beginner I managed to get 6 hours out of a handful of logs (not enough to fill the stove).

The stove is a Fourdog Ultra Light II with side shelf (warming tray), extra pipe, spark arrester and sleeve (to protect the tent). Don at fourdog was familiar with the Tentipis and was happy to help. It took about 3 months from order to arrival. I used one of these 0.5p/minute phone numbers so that I could talk for a while.
After tax, vat, delivery, etc it cost a whopping £665 but I try not to think about that. The steel models would have come in at around £250 I think.

Even when it's all packed in there, it's easily carryable with one hand, which is what I was looking for. We have lots of steps to our house and I have a bad back!

I will definitely be requiring some tips though as...

1) I couldn't get the damn thing to go out! How on earth do you get it in a fit state to leave behind for the day quickly? After my 6 hour burn it still took 3 hours for it to go out completely! No good for getting away early in the morning.

2) I have a lot of creosote in the pipe - so much in one of them that the next pipe down wont fit inside it any more. I guess I had the damper closed too much, but would appreciate any tips.

Anyway - on to the photos. All photos click through to a larger version.

This is how it arrived. Because I have a 9-man Tentipi - all the stove pipe doesn't fit into the stove itself - there's a couple of spare bits left over.
The main box measures 11" x 11" x 22"

Here it is with the legs folded out and the rest of the pipe, damper, side shelf and sleeve (to protect the tent) inside.