First knife

SOAR

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Ok, this is my first attempt at a knife so go easy on me, the blade is a 3.7inch lauri, carbon steel with a nickel silver bolster, leather spacer and a Lime burr handle, I didn't really have an idea for the shape of the handle I just tried to shape it so that it is a comfortable fit in my hand, I am quite pleased with how it turned out in the end. I will be using this knife for work, cutting ropes and perhaps a bit of carving, I finnished the handle with Linseed oil and it really brought out the markings of the wood a treat. I actually enjoyed this project and am looking forward to starting another very soon.
Heres a few pics hope you guys like it.

firstknife4.jpg

firstknife5.jpg

I look forward to your comments.

jojo

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 16, 2006
England's most easterly point
Wellllll, actually, hum,, how can I put this :thinkerg: Oh Yes I like it! It's a good looking knife. Love the wood, the shape is nice and rounded. Looks like it going to be easy to hold and use. Well done. Now where is the sheath for it :naughty:??

SOAR

Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Cheers jojo for the kind comment, well the sheath is on the way just been dyed, its not a scandi sheath though, just something that will be hard wearing and able to take some knocks, I will post some pics when its finished for you to see.

SOAR

Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Looks great, very envious. May I ask where you got the blade?
I got it from Bens Backwoods.
Thanks for the comments guys it means alot, the blade is as sharp as you would like, I am very impressed with them really.

SOAR

Jan 21, 2007
cheshire
Thanks addo, hope you enjoy making your first knife as much as I did.

SOAR

Jan 21, 2007
cheshire