Finding a woodland spot for a day out bushcrafting

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

smojo

Forager
Jan 19, 2014
West Yorkshire
Hi I'm a newbie and just getting started with some bushcraft activity. I've had a few half days exploring local woods, foraging and just enjoying the place. I'd like to take it a step further and have a crack at finding kindling and firewood and starting a fire from found material and maybe making a brew and heating up some soup or something simple, do a bit of woodcarving etc. I didn't know what the laws were about fires and camping so contacted my local council who are responsible for the woods. They said I was OK to do small woodcrafting as long as I didn't remove large quantities of wood but camping overnight wasn't allowed and only fires lit in a purpose-made stove were allowed. I guess my Honey stove would qualify for that but here's the questions aimed at you experienced folks.

Where do you go to indulge your hobby, do you seek permission and use private woods or do you just find a nice quiet spot somewhere that the general public rarely go? Or do you just do it and to hell with what people think? My woods are used quite a lot by dog walkers etc and I feel kind of guilty and conspicuous when doing stuff there. I feel as if I'm somehow being "a bit naughty". Is it just me being oversensitive because I haven't done much of this yet or should I find some better locations? It's a very nice mature deciduous wood and I can walk there so a shame if I can't use it.

So how do you all feel when you are out solo? Do you feel you have a right to be there and just get on with it or what? Really interested to see what the consensus is so as many replies as possible please.

Jonbodthethird

Settler
Sep 5, 2013
Kettering/Stilton