Easy sewing machine projects - suggestions please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

smojo

Forager
Jan 19, 2014
West Yorkshire
I've restored a lovely old singer sewing machine. I'm a complete novice to sewing but I managed to make a few small drawstring stuff bags and a tool roll for drill bits on it. I bought John Fenna's excellent bushcraft projects book but most of the sewing projects are a little too big or complex for me at the moment. I bought some off cuts of various materials and now I am looking for ideas of useful but easy things to make. Any ideas folks?

ozzy1977

Jan 10, 2006
Henley
My first project was a bush shirt from one of toddys patterns and a £1blanket from a charity shop, not complicated at all, if you can sew straight and curved lines you can sew any thing

Zingmo

Eardstapa
Jan 4, 2010
S. Staffs
How about book covers? Get a cheap notebook and make a removable cover. If you want you could add a pen pocket or an integral bookmark. I keep bugging wifey to make me one in real tree.

Z

bilmo-p5

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 5, 2010
west yorkshire
My first project was a bush shirt from one of toddys patterns and a £1blanket from a charity shop, not complicated at all, if you can sew straight and curved lines you can sew any thing

+1 to this.

It's a straightforward pattern made by someone who knows, readily available and with loads of support if you get stuck.

Ian

ozzy1977

Jan 10, 2006
Henley
Bush shirts arnt that hard really, I am now on my third, the first was from a £1 acrylic blanket in smurf blue, second made from some vintage tweeed and l lined it, the one I started yesterday is for the winter and made from army blankets

smojo

Forager
Jan 19, 2014
West Yorkshire