Deer skin sleeping.....

Neumo

Jul 16, 2009
West Sussex
I saw an advert for some Reindeer skins that said that you cant let them get damp or wet otherwise the hairs all come out. I am no expert but it's worth looking into as not all skins may be suitable. It depends on how it's tanned I would guess

PJMCBear

Settler
May 4, 2006
Hyde, Cheshire
Can't comment on other skins, but can vouch for the luxury of reindeer skins. I've a couple of them that I can use in the hammock. One's not really enough without an underblanket.

Are the hairs on the silky hollow like the reindeer?

Gill

Jun 29, 2004
SCOTLAND
that is the only downside to reindeer skins is the hair they shed,saying that i dont think there would be much to match them for insulating purposes,maybe sheepskin .

Like a lot of deer/antelope; individual reindeer hairs snap very easily so the hide gets thin over the years. Saying that I think they are tubular, so the thermal qualities are good. You can only clean them with a wet sponge or cloth. If you pay a bit more, you can get silicone backed skins which are better on the ground. I want one from Santa!

I often camp with quite a big Herdwick sheepskin (a.k.a. Radomir Javanovik) which is brilliant. You can chuck it in the washing machine without causing any damage. Downside is the bulk of it. But it can't be that bad: I carry it around with me at folk festivals as it's perfect for sitting on while you drink beer and listen to the music.........hc

coln18

Native
Aug 10, 2009
Loch Lomond, Scotland
i bought a skin recently and it had a silicone backing making it fine for outdoor, The one i got was just for a seating mat, but it was very warm and comfy, downside is its quite bulky and if you have any pet allergies you are in trouble if you use it as a pillow - guess who woke up at 3am with a fit of sneezing, Otherwise a good product but id say more for a base camp set up, where weight and bulk aint a issue....col

Martyn

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 7, 2003